“But I have forgiven him“


When Imam Ahmad was taken to al-Mu’tasim, the Caliph, to receive the torment, it was said to him: “Pray against the one oppressing you!”

Imam Ahmad replied: “He is not patient (saabir), the one who prays against one oppressing him”

Imam Ahmad was taken in the month of Ramadan and lashed whilst he was fasting until he fainted.

When he gained consciousness a man said to him: “We threw you on your face, laid a mat
over you and walked all over you”

Imam Ahmad said: “I didn’t feel anything”

They then brought Imam Ahmad something to drink and said: “Drink this and vomit”

He said: “I wouldn’t break my fast”

They then took him the officer’s house and time for Dhuhr came. After they had prayed, a person turned to Imam Ahmad and said: “You prayed while blood is dripping from your clothes!”

Imam Ahmd replied: “Umar prayed whilst his wound poured out blood”

Furan, the student of Imam Ahmad b. Hanbal once informed him of Fadl al-Anmati:

Fadl said to me: “I would not forgive the one who ordered my lashing until I, say that the Quran is created; nor would I forgive the one who lashed me, nor those who were happy over this from those who attended the lashing and those who were absent from the Jahmis!”

Imam Ahmad said in reply: “But I have forgiven al-Mu’tasim (the Caliph), the one who lashed me, and all those who were present or absent. I thought that none should be punished (in the hereafter) on my account”

~

[Manaqib al-Imam Ahmad by Ibn al-Jawzi (rahimahullaah) Page468]

About Umm Abdulazeez

"I am a Muslim who is upon the Qur'aan and the Sunnah and upon the methodology of the Salaf As-Saalih (Pious Predecessors). And that can be said in short by saying, 'I am a Salafee' " [Shaykh Al-Albaanee رحمه الله] ________ Sufyaan Ath-Thawree (rahimahullaah) said: “Indeed knowledge should only be learned for the purpose of fearing Allaah. Indeed, knowledge has been given virtue over other than it because with it Allaah is feared.” [Jaam'i Bayaan al-'Ilm wa Fadlihi by Imaam Ibn Abdil-Barr (rahimahullaah)]
This entry was posted in ibn al-Jawzi [Abul-Faraj Abdur-Rahmaan ibn Ali ibn Muhammad ibn al-Jawzi], Inspirational Stories, Tazkiyyah|Purification of the soul and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment